Life Lately

2 Comments

[blows dust off keyboard] Well, those were a few busy months!

Okay, part of it has been me, also. Not gonna lie — I just haven’t been in the mood to write lately. Thankfully, that feeling has passed, and I’m ready to start pounding the keys again!

There have been some additions to our eccentric menagerie and it looks like some changes are on the horizon, but all good ones. Working full time jobs in addition to caring for the farm has left us little time to do much of anything else, but we’re learning to love our new lifestyle and are figuring out how to make it all work.

We finally had our housewarming party a few weekends ago and now that that’s out of the way, I’m looking forward to slightly more (however slight that may be!) free time.

So, here’s a recap of life lately:

Anfisa is doing fabulous! She’s a real character and loves, loves, LOVES attention! And watermelon! She goes nuts for it! Her feathers have all grown in and she’s a beautiful, silly girl. We are so happy to have her here with us.

"No, dad, I don't want to take a selfie with you. Gimme some watermelon!!!"

“No, dad, I don’t want to take a selfie with you. If you’re offering watermelon, though, I might reconsider…”

About three weeks after Anfisa’s arrival, we welcomed another chicken, Libby, to our farm. Libby came from the same poultry market as Anfisa did, but she was raised for meat, unlike Anfisa, who was raised to lay eggs. Because her only value was her weight and how “meaty” she was, Libby is huge — probably about three times the size of Anfisa — and because of that, it’s a bit hard for her to get around. The cruel reality for meat birds is that they’re bred to grow to unnaturally large sizes in a very short time, resulting in a plethora of health problems and early death. We realize that Libby will become a victim of her breeding eventually, but for now, she seems happy and healthy and we are doing our best to keep her that way.

Beautiful Libby!

Beautiful Libby!

We now also have three Pekin ducks! We had a few possible duck surrenders in the works, but they never panned out and honestly, we were really bummed that they didn’t. We couldn’t wait to welcome some ducks to the farm, so I contacted a rescue and found an adorable trio of boys who had been found abandoned at a lake and were in need of a permanent, loving home. They’re now known as The Three Stooges and are slowly, but surely, warming up to us. They are simply adorable and so much fun to watch!

The Stooges!

The Stooges!

Penny’s kittens are all grown up! They turned 10 weeks old on Sunday and although adorable, they are the craziest little fluffballs I’ve ever encountered. I don’t think they sleep. Ever. We’ve decided to keep two kittens, along with Penny. (That brings our cat total to five! Yes… we are crazy.) The others will be adopted out and sassy miss Chloe has already gone to her forever home. Sending her on her way was a zillion times harder than I ever imagined it to be. I felt like I was giving away my own kid. She’s in a wonderful home, though, and I’ve gotten lots of updates and photos. She is settling in just fine and I know that she will be adored and spoiled, just as she should be!

big cheese 10 weeks

Big Cheese

chloe 10 weeks

Chloe

james 10 weeks

James (We’re keeping him!)

lil cheese 10 weeks

Little Cheese

mac 10 weeks

Mackenzie aka Mac

sparrow 10 weeks

Sparrow (We’re keeping her, too!)

penny new pic

Mama Penny

We survived that tornado/derecho/storm-pocalypse/whatever-it-was that tore through southern NJ back in June. We lost power for about three days and since our house runs on a well and pump, no power = no water (or flushing toilet!), so it was an interesting few days, to say the least. We were so lucky, though. Many, many people suffered major damage when giant trees came smashing through their homes or toppling onto their cars. Our area was one of the lesser-hit ones and we managed to escape anything major. A few big limbs came down and a section of our pasture fencing (which we needed to replace, anyway) blew over. It could have been so much worse. I now have a renewed respect for Mother Nature and her forces. And a new-found appreciation for electricity! I don’t know how people survived summers back in the days before air conditioning. I had a hard time making it through three days!

An eerie, orange sky after the storm passed.

An eerie, orange sky after the storm passed.

What else?

I’m currently looking to make a career change. I need a job with more predictable hours. Oh, and weekends. Weekends would be fantastic! My commute is grinding on my nerves too, and since we now live in the middle of practically nowhere, it’d be stellar if I could land a work-from-home position. I’d love to get into the non-profit sector, too, since I haven’t been happy in the corporate world in the past and am absolutely dreading having to go back to it. I’m not being too picky, am I? If I have to leave a job I love, I’m trying my damnest to find one I won’t hate. Leads, anyone?

Like I mentioned earlier, we had our farm/housewarming party a few weeks ago and my mom and dad proved (once again) that they’re pretty much the most awesome parents, ever. My mom ordered a few things from Vegan Treats and my dad made the long trek (about 2 hours, each way!) to pick them up! They were a hit at the party, like I knew they would be. That place doesn’t make anything that isn’t knock-your-socks-off delicious!

Lousy pic. Delicious cake! Vanilla sponge cake with lemon-pineapple filling.

Lousy pic. Delicious cake! Vanilla sponge cake with lemon-pineapple filling.

I’ve been getting a lot of  backlash lately about my life choices, my activism and my stance on certain subjects. I try not to let stuff like that get to me, although I’m the type of person who has a hard time letting such things go, and to be truthful, it’s sort of gotten me down. In a weird way, though, it’s also helping to fuel my passions even more and has made me stronger in my convictions. I hope to use some of these experiences as fodder for writing, so be on the lookout for some intense posts in the near future.

I signed up for Farm Sanctuary’s Animal Care Conference in September. I think it will be an awesome opportunity to gain the valuable, hands-on experience that we’ll need to care for the types of animals we hope to have at our own sanctuary, down the road. It’s an intense, 3-day workshop and I’m hoping to come home with the knowledge and confidence to take on more complicated rescues.

Oh, and I’m gearing up for my trip with World Vets! In less than five months, I’ll be headed to Honduras and it’s about time for me to start doing some fundraising to cover my airfare and vaccinations. Has anyone used a crowd-funding site successfully? What are your recommendations?

Well, that’s what’s been up with me. I’ll try not to go so long without at least popping in to say hello, okay? Hope you’ve all been having a fantastic summer!

🙂

2 thoughts on “Life Lately

  1. Your new babies are gorgeous. You guys have made great strides in such a short time. The farm party was the best!! So many wonderful people came out to see the place and the food was fantastic. You just stick to your convictions. You guys are amazing. Love you both. Oh, I still want James!!!!

  2. We are very happy you started writing again because you have the gift and keep our interest in reading what you wrote (you make Pop tear up ). You and Anthony ha
    ve done a fantastic job getting everything together, the farm looks great, and always remember to follow your heart in everything you do. We are very proud of you and Anthony and love you both. Think of something to start fund raising and we will help you accomplish getting what you need. We will be your first contributor. Keep up the great work guys. As Kathy said “you are am amazing”. Gram & Pop

Leave a Reply

